Dobell Drawing Prize #21 / by Wendy Murray

The National Art School in association with the Sir William Dobell Art Foundation presents an unparalleled celebration of drawing in Australia. This acquisitive award and major exhibition explores the enduring importance of drawing within contemporary art practice.

Every Building on the Redfern Strip, 2019
The Daily drawing series was first developed on residency at Hill End, NSW, in 2010. The Daily reflects the practice of drawing through alternative parameters; each is drawn plein air and must be completed within the day it is started. Over seven years, Murray has completed more than 300 drawings featuring towns and cities across Australia and North America. After three weeks documenting the Redfern area, her current neighbourhood, Murray composed a drawing reflecting the collective experience of the urban landscape and community. The artist acknowledges and pays respects to the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation as the traditional owners of this place we new call Sydney. Sovereignty was never ceded.


Badra Aji (VIC), Tony Albert (QLD/NSW), Leonie Andrews (ACT), Suzanne Archer (NSW), Martin Bell (VIC), M. Bozzec (NSW), Michelle Caithness (VIC), Kristone Capistrano (NSW), Tom Carment (NSW), Tanya Chaitow (NSW), Ari Chand (NSW), Joshua Charadia (NSW), Matthew Clarke (VIC), Penny Coss (WA), Maryanne Coutts (NSW), Fiona Currey-Billyard (NSW) Dagmar Cyrulla (VIC), Madeleine Joy Dawes (VIC), Amy Dynan (NSW), Helen Eager (NSW), Yvonne East (NSW), Stephanie Eather (VIC), David Fairbairn (NSW), George Gittoes (NSW), Richard Goodwin (NSW), Kendal Heyes (NSW), Mark Hislop (VIC), Daniel Hollier (NSW),Pollyxenia Joannou (NSW), Alan Jones (NSW), Locust Jones (NSW), Alex Karaconji (NSW), Sonia Kurarra (WA), Hyun Hee Lee (NSW), Brooke Leigh (NSW), Ruark Lewis (NSW), Tanya Linney (NSW), Lily Mae Martin (VIC), Jonathan McBurnie (QLD), Noel McKenna (NSW), Peta Minnici (NSW), Damian Moss (NSW), Wendy Murray (NSW), Angus Nivison (NSW), Chris O’Doherty aka Reg Mombassa (NSW), Catherine O’Donnell (NSW), Toshiko Oiyama (NSW), Jenny Orchard (NSW), Becc Ország (VIC), Kerrie Poliness (VIC), Monica Rohan (QLD), Wendy Sharpe (NSW), Peter Solness (NSW), Kim Spooner (NSW), Luke Thurgate (SA), Justine Varga (NSW), Mirra Whale (NSW) 

Exhibiton Dates: 28 March – 25 May 2019
Location: NAS Gallery, Darlinghurst, NSW, AUS